Board of Education


Front Row: Janine Freedlund (Vice President), William Grimpe (President), Dr. Susan Stolzer (Secretary)
Back Row: Louis Camardo, Donna Johnson, Frank Fiarito, Robert Rognstad

General Board Email:

The River Trails Elementary School District 26 Board of Education (Board) consists of seven public officials who are elected at large from the geographic boundaries established by law for the River Trails Elementary School District. The Board can only take action as a governing body when it is convened at a formally advertised open public meeting. The members are elected on a staggered basis according to the Illinois School Code adopted by the Illinois General Assembly. 

The Board, representing local community mores, determines the philosophy by which the School District will be governed. The philosophy is expressed through the policies adopted by the Board. In order for the Board to carry out its legal charge given to it by the Illinois State Constitution, the Board has established a structure to govern itself. The Board annually elects three officers: president, vice president, and secretary. The current Board functions under a committee structure. Three Board members are assigned to each standing committee by the president. The standing committees supervise the preparation of multi-year plans of action for finance, facilities, and technology for Board approval. The Strategic Plan is directed by the District Mission Statement, Goals and Action Plans established by the Board in conjunction with the professional staff and community. 


Meet the RTSD26 Board of Education

Individuals with Disabilities

River Trails School District 26 is subject to the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as well as Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Individuals with disabilities who plan to attend this meeting and who require certain accommodations in order to allow them to attend and/or participate, or who have questions regarding the accessibility of the meeting or the facilities, are requested to contact the Superintendent’s office at (847) 297-4120 extension 7301.