Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State to State

(For English Language Learners)

Description of Assessment

  • Measures the student’s English proficiency

Description of the Process

Test forms are divided into five grade-level clusters:

  • Kindergarten - individually administered
  • Grades 1- 8 - speaking portion individually administered
    listening, reading, writing portions completed in small groups on individual pencil/paper test

Who is involved

  • Students who have been identified as English Language Learners (ELLs)/Limited English Proficient (LEP) through their home language or previous ACCESS testing

How it is used

  • Annual assessment of English language proficiency progress
  • Determine eligibility for ELL support services

Access terms

  • ELP - English Language proficiency

ACCESS for ELLs test items are written from the model performance indicators of WIDA's five English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards

  1. Social & Instructional Language
  2. Language of Language Arts
  3. Language of Mathematics
  4. Language of Science
  5. Language of Social Studies

Within each grade-level cluster (except Kindergarten), ACCESS for ELLs consists of three forms: Tier A (beginning), Tier B (intermediate), and Tier C (advanced). This keeps the test shorter and more appropriately targets each students' range of language skills.